Change in Patronage

In 2011 Educate Together received recognition as a second-level patron following a ten-year campaign. This means Educate Together can now apply for the patronage of any new post-primary school announced by the Department of Education and Skills.

Educate Together currently runs 9 second-level schools with 4 more due to open in September 2018.  These are:

Now Open:

  • Ballymakenny College, Drogheda, Co. Louth
  • Hansfield Educate Together Secondary School,Dublin 15
  • Kishoge Community College,Lucan, Co. Dublin
  • Celbridge Community School,Celbridge, Co. Kildare
  • Bremore Educate Together Secondary School,Balbriggan, Co. Dublin
  • Stepaside Educate Together Secondary School, Dublin
  • North WicklowEducate Together Secondary School, Bray, Co. Wicklow
  • Cork Educate Together Secondary School
  • Clonturk Community College,Whitehall, Dublin 9

Opening 2018

  • Dublin City ETSS
  • Firhouse ETSS, Dublin 24
  • Limerick ETSS
  • Malahide Portmarnock ETSS

Demographic Trends

The decision to allocate a new post-primary school is determined by two key factors:

  • Demographic need
  • Parental demand

Demographic trends in Galway suggest that a new school will be needed within the next 2-3 years. When it is, we want to be ready to establish it as the first Educate Together post-primary in the West of Ireland.